Weekly Update #2

Greetings all!

It’s been a week since I posted the first update on my game, and it’s about time to show off some more awesome progress! I’ve completed the title screen for the game, and I’ve finalized the name of the game. It’s called Vortex Gear, how’d I come up with that name? Random name generators! Yeah, I liked the sound of it so I stuck with it. That’s it, simple right?

Ss11

I’ve received some feedback for my original title screen, and changed it up a bit. This is the final product. It started as my first experiment with Photoshop, and I’m astounded with the results. I give 100% to beginners luck. I’m still accepting feedback for it, so feel free to leave a comment down below what you think! Nothing is truly ever final.

Ss12

I’ve now changed up the introduction to include more lore. Pretty much an exposition dump. It’s not final yet, but it’s MUCH more interesting, and I’d like to believe it adequately informers the player of the game’s setting.

Ss13

I’ve also changed up the message backgrounds to be WAY more fancy. Makes the game have a more polished look to it. Plus I wanted an excuse to mess around in photoshop a bit more. This message background is not final, so feel free to comment on it!

Ss14Ss17

I’ve changed the battle system a bit more since the last update. I’ve changed the backgrounds to be more like the field you’re walking around in, so things stay consistent. (Plus I wanted to stray as far away from the RTP as possible.) And I’ve also gotten rid of the “Attack” command seen in most, if not all, RPGs. I, as well as many others, have gotten bored of just plain bashing the attack command and getting through, so I thought to myself, might as well get rid of the whole attack command and thus getting rid of the whole complaint! Well it’s still not that easy, but it allows me to add a little more fanciness to my battle system. You learn Magic by gaining JP through battles, but you learn new Actions every few levels or so, and most Actions cast no MP, so there’s no penalty for experimenting! I hope this small change makes a huge difference in the fun of battles, but only time will tell.

Ss16

Here’s just the status menu, I’m just wondering if I should keep that star for the JP… Hmmm…. I don’t know……………………

Ss15

Oh! I’ve also finished the second dungeon! Here’s a little sneak peak of what it looks like! I REALLY love how it turned out. I was going for a dark basement theme, and I got something much more than that. It still needs some tweaking, like the first dungeon, but it’s pretty close to the final product.

I’ve now got the game playtime to reach up roughly 45 minutes. Forty Five. A 4, and a 5. It’s the most playtime I’ve had in a game of this quality ever. Guess this means I’m truly serious about this one. But this game isn’t just going to be some 2 hour mini-game. No. It’s going to be much more. Buuuuuuuut it’s hopefully not going to be some 60-hour epic, ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat! The goal playtime will roughly be 8-hours, but who knows, I may be optimistic OR it may end up being twice that, at 16 hours. But expect 5 hours minimum, that’s probably the shortest this game can be given the whole story thing that RPGs seem to have, you know, plot I think is what they call it? Yeah, that plot thing, 5 hours.

I’ve also updated the “Current Game” tab in the blog, so feel free to check there for more up-to-date info on Vortex Gear! Next week I’ll provide character biographies, so look out for those!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Weekly Update #2”

Leave a Reply

