Weekly Update #1

Greetings, all!

Now that I feel a little less self-conscious about my game now that it’s come along pretty-well, I feel that this is the perfect time to reveal my current project! I feel that my years of experience with the RPG Maker series and the (roughly) 2 years Ace has been out is enough to finally get cracking on a legitimate project. No more quitting, and no more excuses. I’ll get this project finish if it’s the last thing I do! But… I’ve never released a game before, so I have no real idea what it’s like to finish one, I lack experience. I’m crossing my fingers that this project will allow me to find out for myself the glory that is finishing a game.

So a little bit about myself to reveal a little about my current setting. I’m a 19-year-old college student living in Richmond Virginia, so, you know, I’m busy with spending outrageous amounts of cotton to listen to rants, write 20 pages of the same ideas repeating themselves, and terrible food. I’m not able give 100% of my time on this project, but I regretfully am giving a bit TOO much time to this little hobby of mine. I spend at least 5 hours a day with RPG Maker VX:Ace open on my laptop, and don’t even tell me about my social life… It’s lacking in the people department. So I’m serious about this, maybe a little too serious, but who knows, it might just pay off.

I guess it’s time to show off a little bit of my game then! Of course it’s still early on in development, so don’t expect it to be too fancy yet, don’t worry, that’ll come in time. I’m not even going to worry about weather, let alone light effects yet. (But don’t worry, but the time I release an early build of it, I’ll make sure too pop in some more eye candy in for you guys.)

Ss01

The fancy pantsy menu I’ve got going on just so happened to be a random find when I was browsing some random Japanese RM sites, and I fell in love with this script by Cacaosoft at http://cacaosoft.web.fc2.com/ At first it was a pain to figure out the inner-workings of it since it was in a foreign language but it was a sheep in wolfs clothing once I took a deeper look into things. Cacao DID hide a few extra functions in the script that I still have no idea what they do, but hey, it looks cool even without the fanciness! Then to top it all off, Syvkal’s Menu Bars to make the bars look perfect.

Ss02

Ah the lovely DS tiles. I love them dearly. I would’ve completely scrapped Ace last year if it weren’t for these beauties. The RTP just got so boring to me that I wanted to give up RMing entirely because of it, but just before I did… BAM! Like a falling meteor, this wonderful package hit me like a brick, but only after I sacrificed a bundle of cash to the gods at http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/

Ss04

Finally the battle system. A classic side-view to top it all off.

I’ll be showing off more of this project every-week on whichever day I feel like writing I guess. I promise there’s more than just what these three pictures show, I just feel like these three adequately show the core of the game well enough that anymore will be a tad redundant so far. Next week I’ll be talking about the setting of this project and its name (The smart ones have already figured it out, but shhhhh don’t tell anybody!) as well as the length of this game.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

